Court-Ordered DUI Classes
Posted By Law Offices of Howard J. Weintraub || Jul 10, 2013
Individuals who are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs face numerous, profound, and sometimes life altering consequences. From large fines and ongoing costs to possible terms of imprisonment and driver's license suspensions, penalties handed down by criminal courts and the California DMV can be severe. Aside from these well-known penalties, there also exist a number of collateral, hidden, and little-known repercussions. Court-mandated DUI classes, for example, can create additional burdens for convicted DUI offenders.
Being convicted of a DUI offense in California will subject a person to a long list of requirements and restrictions. Although DMV and criminal court proceedings are conducted separately, they do occasionally overlap in terms of punishment. Court-ordered DUI classes, therefore, are typically a requirement ordered by the court and a condition offenders must meet in order to retain or regain their driving privileges.
Alcohol Education for First and Multiple Offenders
In Riverside County, courts order most individuals convicted of a DUI to attend an alcohol education program. Depending on the nature of the offense and whether or not the individual has prior DUI convictions, courts will tailor the terms and lengths of these courses. First offenders will be required to attend programs for 36 hours of course study that can be fulfilled by attending weekly three-hour classes for 12 weeks. If a first time offender had a high blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of their arrest, they will be required to enroll in a longer education program for six or nine months. Restricted licenses can be obtained and used to drive to and from education classes.
Drivers convicted of a second DUI offense will be required to enroll in an 18 month alcohol education course. The course is divided into phases that begin with weekly education classes and transition into bi-weekly group sessions. For habitual offenders who have been convicted of three, four, or more DUIs within ten years, alcohol education courses may last as long as 30 months. Individuals who live out of state or outside of Riverside County may be eligible to attend an equivalent, approved DUI education program in their home county or state. DUI alcohol education programs are offered throughout Riverside County. Indio, Palm Springs, Hemet, Banning, Corona, Lake Elsinore, Murrieta, and Riverside all have court-approved DUI programs.
DUI education programs can be exhaustive and burdensome to individuals, especially when they may still be reeling from the repercussions of a DUI conviction. In addition to consuming your time, DUI education programs can also be quite costly, adding additional financial strains to hefty fines and fees. If you would like to learn more about protecting yourself or your loved one from the numerous consequences of a DUI conviction, do not hesitate to contact a Riverside DUI attorney from the Law Offices of Thomas Wallin as soon as possible.