Penalties For a Third DUI in California
Posted By Law Offices of Scott Henry || Aug 27, 2013
When a person is pulled over for driving under the influence (DUI) in California and is later convicted of a third DUI offense within 10 years, there are hefty penalties involved. Persons who are considered "habitual" offenders, meaning that they have been convicted a few times, face harsher repercussions. First, the DMV will automatically suspend your license, and then you will have about 10 days to request a DMV hearing. Second, the DMV will hold an administrative hearing to determine DMV penalties. It is important to note that the DMV matter is separate from any matter with the court. Thus, there will be additional penalties rising from the court matter as well! Some of these penalties may include:
- Fines of up to $1,000 plus various court and administrative fees
- Terms of imprisonment between 120 days and one year
- Driver's license suspensions or revocations
- Various costs and expenses, including installation of an Ignition Interlock Device and court-ordered DUI classes.
It is important and recommended to attain an experienced lawyer to help you along the way. Both the criminal court process and the DMV hearing can be very intimidating and life changing. A Riverside DUI lawyer can lead you step by step through the process and explain your options based on your case.
At the Law Offices of Scott Henry, our Riverside DUI attorneys make it a point to work closely with our clients and to clearly explain all aspects of their cases. With situations in which the stakes are heightened – such as in the case of a third DUI – we work tirelessly you provide you with the support and representation you need to protect your future. Learn more about your case and defense by calling (888) 900 – 0951 or completing a free online case evaluation form. We represent clients throughout Southern California, including Riverside, San Bernardino, Los Angeles, and Orange County.