Riverside DUI Lawyer: Frequently Asked Questions
Answers from a Riverside DUI Attorney
What are the laws for a DUI?
DUI is charged under the California Vehicle Code, sections 23152(a) and (b),
which state respectively:
"It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of any alcoholic
beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage
or drug, to drive a vehicle."
"It is unlawful for any person who has 0.08 percent or more, by weight,
of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle."
In addition, if you cause bodily injury to another person while driving
under the influence, you may be charged under Vehicle Code sections 23153
(a) and (b), which state respectively:
"It is unlawful for any person, while under the influence of any alcoholic
beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage
and drug, to drive a vehicle and concurrently do any act forbidden by
law, or neglect any duty imposed by law in driving the vehicle, which
act or neglect proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than
"It is unlawful for any person, while having 0.08 percent or more,
by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle and concurrently
do any act forbidden by law, or neglect any duty imposed by law in driving
the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately causes bodily injury to
any person other than the driver."
How is a DUI charged?
Drunk driving may be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor, but most DUIs
are misdemeanors. If you have been convicted of four or more DUIs, you
can be charged with a felony if the District Attorney so chooses, as well
as if you are accused of causing injury while driving under the influence.
Remember, a felony prosecution can result in over a year in state prison.
What is the punishment for a DUI?
As always, every punishment depends on the crime. Generally, for a first
time DUI offense with a blood alcohol level below .20%, the maximum penalty includes:
- Summary Probation for three to five years (unsupervised by the Court),
- Six months in county jail,
- Six months suspended license,
- Fines of up to $1,000, plus penalties of up to $2,710 (the penalty is currently
3x the amount of the fine, and may increase if the California Legislature
agrees to it),
- A $100 contribution to the California State Restitution Fund for victims
of DUI accidents,
- Proof of enrollment and completion of an alcohol education program,
- A fee of $50 towards "Alcohol abuse Prevention,"
- A fee of $37 towards the blood alcohol content testing,
- A fee of $20 for Court security.
You may be assessed additional penalties if your blood alcohol was above
.20%, you injured someone, or had a child in your car.
For a second time DUI, all of the fines and penalties mentioned above will
- Up to one year in county jail,
- Vehicle impoundment for 30 days,
- Driver's license suspension for 18 months.
For a third or fourth time DUI, all of the fines and penalties mentioned
above will increase, plus:
- The DMV can revoke your license for up to 4 years,
- Completion of a 30-month alcohol treatment program,
- Up to 120 days in county jail for a third offense,
- Up to 180 days in county jail for a fourth offense,
- 16 months to 3 years in state prison for a felony.
In addition, you may have to pay increased insurance premiums for
SR-22 coverage, tow and impound fees, alcohol rehabilitation program costs,
and legal fees for an attorney and the court.
What happens to my license if I am convicted of a DUI?
Upon conviction of DUI, the court will send an abstract to the Department
of Motor Vehicles to suspend your license. This is an action separate
of any suspension that may have been imposed through an Administrative
Per Se hearing based solely off of the arrest.
How does a DUI arrest affect my commercial driver's license?
A commercial driver driving a commercial vehicle is held to a .04% BAC
instead of the normal .08% BAC requirement. The Department of Motor Vehicles
will suspend your commercial license for one year without eligibility
for a restricted commercial license but you may apply for a Class C restricted
license after 30 days of hard suspension. Additionally, even if you are
not driving a commercial vehicle but are found to have violated VC 23152
(a) and/or (b), and hold a commercial license, the DMV can suspend your
commercial license for one year on a first offense and revoke the privilege
for a lifetime on a second offense.
What defenses are there in drunk driving or DUI cases?
There are many defenses available in a drunk-driving case. Some of the
common ones include:
What if the police didn't read me my rights before they arrested me for DUI?
The police have to read you your Miranda rights before they question you
in custody. If the police didn't read you your Miranda rights before
questioning you, the evidence they obtained from your statements, and
the statements themselves, might be excluded at trial through a motion
to suppress evidence.
What are the benefits to paying an attorney for a case I could lose anyway?
Drunk-driving cases are complicated, and you need an attorney who is familiar
with criminal law and your Constitutional rights. Mr. Wallin will first
review whether the police had a right to stop you under the Fourth Amendment
to the U.S. Constitution, and under California Law. He will next determine
whether the police had probable cause to believe that you were under the
influence of alcohol or drugs. Finally, he will place the burden of proof
on the prosecutor to establish beyond any doubt that the breathalyzer
was in proper working order, maintained and calibrated according to law,
that the test was given by a properly trained officer, and that you took
two tests within 15 minutes of each other, that were within .02% of each
other, and were within 3 hours of your driving. The team at the firm has
many factors to work with to help you win the case. In addition, Mr. Wallin
can personally represent you before the judge and at your DMV hearing,
saving you valuable time and money and sparing you the embarrassment of
appearing in court.
What are the top 10 mistakes defendants make in DUI cases?
If you have been arrested on charges of driving under the influence, here
are some of the most common mistakes for you to avoid:
Not taking the matter seriously. This is a charge that could follow you for years, and the Department of
Motor Vehicles will keep it on your driving record for the rest of your
life. You can lose your driver's license, and the additional insurance
charges alone could cost you thousands of dollars. If your license is
suspended or revoked, you will have to prepay for an SR-22 endorsement
on your insurance policy. Your insurance company must notify the DMV in
advance if you do not maintain your insurance, and you will have to pay
higher premiums based on your conviction.
Not hiring an attorney. The law is complex, and you need skilled representation to raise the right
defenses at the right time or you will most likely lose the case. Evidence
can disappear, memories fade, and witnesses vanish. A winnable case can
quickly become a loser. What should you do? You need an attorney who knows
how to resolve the charges you face.
Hiring an attorney based on the amount of the fee alone. The State has almost unlimited resources when it comes to prosecuting
your case. You need to hire an attorney and pay a fee, which will allow
him to put time and effort into your case to counter the prosecution.
Attorneys must earn enough in the time they spend on your case in order
to keep their doors open and make a living wage. If you go too low, you
may end up with an attorney who specializes in guiding his clients to
accept unfavorable plea bargains. Look for a reasonable, predictable fee,
but not the lowest.
Not obtaining a temporary license and requesting a DMV hearing within 10 days. If you do not request a hearing, you will not be able to drive until after
a hearing or for 90 days to a year. Driving during this time is a serious
traffic offense, and a misdemeanor carrying mandatory jail time, regardless
of whether you need to drive for work or personal reasons.
Driving after your license has been revoked. Driving after your license has been revoked is in many ways a more serious
offense than your original charge. There are no provisions for you to
drive for work or personal reasons, though after a period of time you
may qualify for an interlock device. If arrested for driving while your
license is revoked, you may have to post a $10,000 bond just to get out
of jail. If convicted, you face significant time behind bars.
Not requesting that the arresting officer be present at your motor vehicle hearing. If you do not request the officer's presence, you will have to seek
a subpoena or waive the option of having the officer at the hearing. The
hearing will be based on the officer's report only and the officer
will not be called upon to testify. Having the officer present at the
hearing gives your attorney the opportunity to learn a great deal about
the case and can not only make it easier to fight the license suspension,
but also provides valuable information for the criminal case. If the officer
fails to appear or justify what was done, you may get your license back.
Taking the District Attorney's first offer. The first offer is not a bargain; it's just to get rid of your case
with the least amount of work. Very few cases are dismissed or reduced
to a non-alcohol charge at this stage. You do not give the judge an opportunity
to rule on Constitutional challenges. You give up your right to raise
these issues and to make the State prove its case.
Failing to appear in Court. The Court will issue a bench warrant for your arrest and revoke any bond.
The next time you are stopped for a traffic infraction, you will be taken
to jail and have to post a bond for your future appearances.
Talking to anyone but an attorney about your case. You will get advice, some of it good, some of it bad, some of it based
upon personal experience in other jurisdictions, or years ago, that may
not apply in your case at all, from your family and friends, even co-workers.
Don't listen to anyone except an attorney experienced in DUI law.
You can either choose a lawyer or risk the consequences of representing
yourself. By hiring an attorney immediately following your citation, you
are less likely to miss any important deadlines in your case. You will
have someone to guide you through the
court process. Judges won't know whether they should protect your rights unless
someone defends you. For example, overworked prosecutors may use reports
from inexperienced or over-zealous police officers to prosecute a case.
Defense attorneys are aware of these tendencies and are trained to handle
such situations. If you ask the judge to let you be your own attorney,
he or she must allow this in most cases, but this is not advisable. The
best advice is to get a lawyer, and do it quickly. Remember, you must
request the DMV hearing within ten days of your arrest.
When you have been charged with driving under the influence, contact a Riverside DUI attorney
for answers to all your questions about the situation.