Being arrested for Driving Under the Influence in Southern California can have severe consequences on nearly every aspect of your life. For most people there are two grave concerns: how will this affect my license and how much is this going to cost me?
LICENSE SUSPENSION FOLLOWING A RIVERSIDE DUI ARREST
SR pageYou will face an automatic license suspension 30 days following an arrest for a DUI if you fail to contact the California Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 calendar days. This is known as the “10 day rule.” Contacting the DMV within 10 days preserves your right to an administrative hearing and will prevent the automatic suspension of your license. This hearing is completely independent of any criminal case. If your license is suspended, either automatically or as a result of a negative decision from the hearing, you will have to do a number of things to reinstate your driving privileges:
Pay a $125 reissue fee
Provide proof of financial responsibility (SR-22)
Maintain proof of financial responsibility for 3 years
FILING AN SR22 FOLLOWING A LICENSE SUSPENSION
An SR 22 is not actually a type of car insurance; it is instead a certificate of financial responsibility. It shows the DMV that you’ll meet the minimum car insurance requirements following your license suspension. There are a number of SR-22 insurance providers throughout the State. It is important to do your research and find an affordable but trustworthy provider who will help to save you thousands of dollars during this difficult and often, costly time. Working with an experienced SR22 Insurance provider may allow you to get complete coverage through one company that is often significantly less expensive than your original provider. Insurance companies will quickly raise rates after a DUI arrest or even drop your policy. Whether you are arrested in Orange County, Riverside or San Bernardino, you need to act fast to make sure that you are covered and to get your license reinstated as quickly as possible.
RESTRICTED LICENSE ELIGIBILITY IN RIVERSIDE, ORANGE COUNTY AND SAN BERNARDINO
2 cupsDepending on the circumstances of your case, you may be eligible to get restricted driving privileges after a minimum 30-day hard suspension. The length of the hard suspension varies depending on your case. In addition to filing an SR22 insurance certificate you will also have to enroll in a state approved alcohol program. Alcohol programs for first time offenders last for 3 or 4 months depending on the county where you take the class. A restricted license allows you to drive to, from and within the course of work and to and from an alcohol program. Please note that a higher blood alcohol level could extend the required length of your alcohol program to either 6 or 9 months. Working with an insurance provider that specializes in issuing Sr-22 certificates will ensure that you enroll in the correct program for the correct length of time. Multi-offenders may still have restricted license eligibility with the installation of an ignition interlock device or after serving a longer hard suspension.
SAVING MONEY ON SR22 INSURANCE FOLLOWING AN ARREST FOR DUI
Driving under the influence can cost you thousands of dollars. Doing your research is crucial to saving money every step of the way. The Law Offices of Scott Henry works with reputable insurance agents that have a proven track record of providing outstanding customer service and low cost insurance. The companies we work with go above and beyond for their clients and can provide instant coverage. Find out more about SR-22 Insurance coverage in your area today:
Orange County SR 22 Insurance Information
Riverside County SR22 Insurance Information
San Bernardino County SR-22 Insurance Information